Open all year round

Today: 09:30 - 17:00

Taking in and giving treatment to wild animals in difficulty

La Garenne takes in hundreds of young, injured or weakened wild animals each year. These animals are given treatment and then released. Animals that are saved but too heavily wounded to be released are placed in the park and can spend the rest of their life here.

Safeguarding and reintroducing threatened species

La Garenne takes part in several national and international reintroduction programmes of threatened species such as the Bearded vulture and the Cinereous vulture. Out of the 25 bearded vultures born at La Garenne, 13 participated in the breeding programme in animal parks, and 12 were released. Some of them formed new couples and bred in the wild. This specialisation has made La Garenne well-known not only to the public but also the scientific world well beyond our national borders.

Proposing educational services on environment 

La Garenne works to raise children’s awareness in the conservation of our regional biodiversity by working with schools, camps and other organisations. Educational animations about wildlife and nature are proposed to thousands schoolchildren from hundreds of classes, mainly from the Cantons of Vaud and Geneva every year.

The zoo-pedagogical centre counts with the support of the DFJC (Department of Education, Youth and Culture of the Canton of Vaud) in order to create animations for those who wish to attend.

Presenting the Swiss wildlife

Some animals shown to the public were exclusively bred in animal parks, while others came wounded to the Care Centre, and were too heavily wounded to be released. Approximately 100 species, “from ants to wolves”, have been gathered during the 50 years of existence of La Garenne, for the greatest delight of our visitors, who can familiarise with our regional biodiversity.

Missions

Ouvert toute l'année

Aujourd'hui: 09:00 - 18:00

Recueillir et soigner les animaux sauvages en difficulté

La Garenne recueille des centaines d'animaux sauvages, jeunes, blessés ou affaiblis chaque année. Il s'agit avant tout de les soigner pour les remettre en liberté. Si un animal peut être sauvé mais reste handicapé, il est placé dans le parc.

Participer à la sauvegarde et à la réintroduction d'espèces menacées

La Garenne participe à plusieurs programmes nationaux et internationaux de réintroduction d'espèces concernant notamment les gypaètes barbus et les vautours moines. Sur les 25 gypaètes reproduits et élevés à la Garenne, 13 ont participé au programme de reproduction en parc animalier et 12 ont pu être relâchés dans la nature. Certains d'entre eux ont constitué de nouveaux couples qui se sont reproduits. Cette spécialisation a donné à La Garenne une reconnaissance bien au-delà des frontières, tant par le grand public que par les milieux scientifiques.

Proposer des services d'éducation à l'environnement

Ces actions permettent de sensibiliser les enfants à la conservation de la biodiversité de leur région. L'accueil des groupes d'écoles, de passeport-vacances et d'autres organisations (colonies et autres groupes de jeunesse) est important. Des animations zoo-pédagogiques sur la faune et la nature sont proposées à près de 2000 écoliers provenant de 150 classes des cantons de Vaud et Genève.

Le centre de zoo-pédagogie est soutenu par le Département de la formation, de la jeunesse et de la culture du Canton de Vaud pour mettre sur pied des animations offertes à toutes les personnes qui le souhaitent.

Présenter la faune suisse

Certains animaux présentés au public proviennent exclusivement d'élevages en Parc animalier, et d'autres font partie de ceux qui sont arrivés en station de soins et que l'on n'a pas pu relâcher. Environ 100 espèces, "de la fourmi au loup", ont été réunies au cours des 40 ans d'existence de la Garenne pour le plus grand plaisir de nos petits et grands visiteurs qui peuvent ainsi se familiariser avec la biodiversité régionale.

Missions