Open all year round

Today: 09:30 - 17:00

History 

1965

Erwin Meier was able, with the help of his family, to achieve his dream of creating a zoo which was almost exclusively dedicated to the local fauna in order to raise awareness and respect among the public for our wildlife. Located near Nyon, in Le Vaud, the 6'100 m2 park was a refuge and care centre for large numbers of wounded wild animals, non-native species and domestic animals whose owners could no longer care for them.

1972

La Garenne is the first Swiss institution to contribute to the major European project to reintroduce the Bearded vulture in the Alps. It was a female born in the zoo and released in 1989 that raised the first chick hatched in the wild since the species became extinct in the Alps in 1913.

1975

The association « Amis de la Garenne » (ADAG) was founded to provide financial support to La Garenne.

1977

La Garenne is officially recognised as a public-interest organisation thanks to its education mission as well as its role in conserving European wildlife.

1998

The Foundation was established to ensure the long-term viability of the zoological park. The Foundation Board’s current members are delegates from the Regional council of the Nyon district, the Municipality of Le Vaud and major stakeholders of political, economical and scientific domains as well as representatives of ADAG. 

2004

40 years after it was first opened, the aging park needed to be restored in order to improve the environment for the animals and offer better facilities for the visitors. The Foundation initiated a project to develop a new park with a high standard of quality in all areas: for the fauna and flora, visitor reception, the construction and operation of the buildings, services and products offered by the restaurant and the shop, as well as the staff. 

2010-2012

The building permit and zoning authorisation were granted, thus officially changing the existing agricultural plot into an area of public interest.

2014

In April, with the political, technical and financial support of dozens of people and institutions, the construction of the new park was launched, with a total budget of CHF 14.5 million. The funding model was based on a public-private partnership. The Bertarelli Foundation was the main contributor, followed by the MAVA and OAK foundations and the « Loterie Romande ».

2016

The new park opened on schedule in March 2016 on a 3-hectare site. The new facilities enable the Foundation to better fulfil its missions. The park focuses primarily on Swiss fauna, wild and domestic, and on the principle that people are more likely to respect that which they are familiar with. The new facilities are home to a Care centre for wild animals, a 120m2 room where school classes can take part in educational activities, a restaurant and a playground where visitors can enjoy leisure time with their families.


Historique

Ouvert toute l'année

Aujourd'hui: 09:30 - 18:00

Historique

1965

Entouré par sa famille, Erwin Meier a réalisé son rêve en créant un petit parc animalier essentiellement réservé à la faune locale, pour la faire connaitre, tout en donnant envie à tout public de la respecter. Situé dans la région de Nyon à Le Vaud, le parc de 6'100 m2 fut un refuge et un hôpital pour de nombreuses espèces sauvages handicapées, mais également pour des animaux exotiques et  domestiques dont les propriétaires ne pouvaient plus s’occuper

1972

La Garenne est la première station de Suisse à apporter sa contribution au grand projet européen de réintroduction du gypaète barbu dans les Alpes. Une femelle née au parc animalier et lâchée en 1989, élève le premier petit en liberté depuis la disparition de l'espèce dans les Alpes en 1913. 

1975

L'association des Amis de La Garenne (ADAG) est créée pour soutenir financièrement La Garenne.

1977

Grâce à son rôle éducatif, couplé à celui de protection de la faune européenne, La Garenne est officiellement reconnue d'utilité publique.

1998

La fondation est créée pour assurer la pérennité du parc animalier. Le conseil de fondation actuel est composé de délégués du conseil régional du district de Nyon, de la commune de Le Vaud, d'acteurs importants du monde économique, politique et scientifique, ainsi que de l'ADAG.

2004

40 ans après sa création et pour assurer sa pérennité, le parc vieillissant avait besoin d’être restauré pour offrir un nouveau cadre aux animaux et une meilleure offre aux visiteurs. La fondation a initié le développement d’un projet d’un nouveau parc, avec une exigence de qualité à tout niveau, pour les animaux et la flore, l’accueil des visiteurs, la construction et l’exploitation des bâtiments, les services et les produits de restauration et de la boutique, ainsi que le personnel. 

2010-2012

Obtention du permis de construire et du plan partiel d’affectation pour La Garenne, changeant ainsi le terrain agricole existant en zone d’intérêt public.

2014

D’un coût total de 14,5 millions de francs, la construction du nouveau parc est initiée en avril grâce aux appuis politique, technique et financier de dizaines de personnes et institutions. Le financement du projet a été basé sur un partenariat public-privé. Le plus gros contributeur a été la Fondation Bertarelli, suivie des fondations MAVA, OAK et de la Loterie Romande..

2016

Conformément au calendrier, le nouveau parc ouvre en mars 2016, sur une surface de 3 hectares. La nouvelle structure permet de mieux remplir les missions de la fondation. Elle se concentre sur la faune suisse, sauvage et domestique et sur le principe que l’on respecte mieux ce que l’on connaît. Les nouveaux bâtiments abritent un centre de soins pour les animaux sauvages, une salle de 120m2 permet l’accueil des classes pour des animations pédagogiques, un restaurant et des espaces de jeux offrant aux visiteurs des moments de détente en famille.


Historique